The Strain: Season Finale

WARNING: Spoilers ahead! Don’t read it if you haven’t seen it!

Season 1 of the Strain came to an end last night, and I’m already looking forward to season 2. The FX series has easily become one of my favorites over the summer. I really enjoy the team of characters that are working to fight the Master, although I’ve recently read some criticism for Eph. People don’t like him because he doesn’t fit the archetype for protagonist; I find this a welcome change. He is arrogant and selfish, but he, like everyone else in his ragtag group, has to learn how to work together to save not only himself and his son, but the entire human race. I think his transformation has been interesting and more realistic than the perfect group leader.

Anyways, to talk about the actual episode, I felt satisfied with the way it ended. There is much more left to the story, yet there wasn’t a huge cliffhanger. I actually thought that Eichhorst might be killed during the final fight, and that might be Palmer’s way in to being the Master’s right hand. I’m glad he didn’t die though, I do really love his character.

Now that Palmer is healthy and evil as ever, he is a force to be reckoned with. He wants to be turned, and he will do anything to please the Master. I’m glad that Fitzwilliam has realized the evil within him and has left him. Perhaps Fitzwilliam can join Team Setrakian now.

Gus has been kidnapped by Quinlan and his team of vampire hunters, and we learned that they are working for the Ancients. The Master is another Ancient who has gone rogue, and the others want to stop him. They make an offer to Gus, because he wants revenge and they need a human soldier to help defeat the Master. I’m wondering why they have never approached Setrakian for this job; he has spent his entire life in search of the Master to get revenge. Perhaps they have approached him and he declined their offer.

Team Setrakian locate where the Master is rebuilding his coffin and make a second attempt to eliminate him. Fet, Dutch and Nora took on Eichhorst and a horde of vamps, while Setrakian, Eph and Zach approached the Master. They planned the attack during the day so they could use the sunlight to their advantage; Eph and Zach begin breaking all the windows while Setrakian made the attack. The sunlight hurt the Master bad enough for all of his vamp followers, including Eichhorst, to retreat from battle in a weird moonwalk fashion, but the Master crawled down the side of the building and ran away, in direct sunlight. So their sunlight plan didn’t work out too well…they are going to need a new plan to defeat the Master since sunlight doesn’t kill him like Setrakian thought. Perhaps they will all join forces with Quinlan’s team in season 2.

While I’m pretty upset that season 1 has come to a close, at least next Sunday the Walking Dead returns. At this point, I like the Strain more than the Walking Dead, but I’m just glad I will have SOMETHING to watch on Sunday nights. Is anyone else looking forward to the Walking Dead? Or have you grown tired of it after 4 seasons as a lot of people have? It isn’t as exciting as it used to be for me, but I still want to watch it. I’m pretty curious about this spin-off that Robert Kirkman is working on, too. While on one hand I think that it will be interesting, it’s kind of just overkill. It’s better to leave some things to the imagination.

What do you think?

