Let’s Shake Some Dust!

Everyone has their favorite TV show, whether it be Lost or Keeping Up with the Kardashians. Mine ended almost 10 years ago.

Most people haven’t heard of Carnivale. It was a short-lived show on HBO, running from 2003-2005. The reason HBO cancelled it: it cost too much money per episode. They would have kept it if the producers would have been willing to lower the cost. They found this impossible to do.

I’ve watched it through quite a few times, and each time feels special. Sometimes, I just watch the intro on YouTube because the music makes me feel like it never ended.

The very first episode opens with a monologue that really sets the tone for the dark, mysterious series. This show is really so magical; it makes me excited just to look up pictures of it.

Sure, the show does focus on a travelling carnival. But don’t be fooled. This series tells a story about the battle between good and evil. It takes place during the Great Depression and Dust Bowl. The story is way more than what it seems. It focuses on two main characters: “a creature of light, and a creature of darkness.” Each episode brings the two closer to one another for a final battle. They have never met, but they know the other exists. There is a lot of mythology in the show, which adds to its uniqueness.

Carnivale is really something special to me, and even though it’s only two seasons long, it will always be my favorite show. It’s a fascinating show, and I think that everyone should watch it. I’ve watched it through 3 times, and I still find it enjoyable. I always notice new things. Although it’s been nearly ten years since it ended, I often hope that HBO will realize they made a mistake cancelling it and bring it back. The cancellation outraged a lot of people, and HBO got a lot of hate mail for it.

As Samson would say, “Okay, children! Let’s shake some dust!”

2 responses to “Let’s Shake Some Dust!

  1. I couldn’t agree more! I was instantly drawn into the show and couldn’t believe it ended! there was something very special about this show, I’m heartbroken.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Falling Behind | TV Gaga

What do you think?

